freeplace.blogg.se

Use my passport for mac wd
Use my passport for mac wd















The drive certainly matches the speed of Western Digital's My Passport Studio II over USB 2.0.

#Use my passport for mac wd for mac#

In a copy transfer data test - duplicating the same files on the hard drive itself - the My Passport for Mac managed to perform at 14.17MBps. Read speeds averaged 32.76 megabytes per second (MBps) during file transfers, while write speeds were only slightly slower at 24.33MBps. In both instances it delivered decent results. We benchmarked the drive in HFS+ Journaled format using a 2007 15in MacBook Pro with a 200GB 7200rpm hard drive, and in NTFS format with a 7200rpm Seagate Barracuda ES2 on a test PC. My Passport for Mac uses the same 500GB Western Digital Scorpio Blue (WD5000BEVT) found in the My Passport Studio II, so it performs on par with the Studio II over USB 2.0. Only USB 2.0 connectivity is offered on the My Passport for Mac, but this suffices for most tasks. Western Digital's higher end My Passport Studio II and My Passport Elite have capacity indicators, but disappointingly the My Passport for Mac doesn't include one. However the My Passport for Mac has small rubber feet and a minimal footprint when placed horizontally. Tapered edges and the USB 2.0 port's placement on the bottom of the unit prevent users from standing the drive up. The drive is enclosed in a small book-like casing with a two-tone black and silver fascia. Western Digital employs familiar design aesthetics in the My Passport for Mac. Thankfully, and unlike some other hard drive vendors, Western Digital doesn't charge a premium for having done this for you. Anyone with reasonable level of technical proficiency is able to format a hard drive into a HFS+ Journaled file system - the primary format used on Mac OS X. It is one of the cheapest external drives on the Australian market and a must-have for anyone who needs a quick and easy backup solution.Īpart from the Mac symbol and the extra labelling, the only difference between a Mac-specific drive and any other is the file system.

use my passport for mac wd

The My Passport for Mac is a no-frills external hard drive that lacks the comprehensive connectivity of the more expensive Western Digital My Passport Studio II.















Use my passport for mac wd